Hi! New here and can't wait to get started, having a little trouble tho!

Forum
Last Post
Threads / Messages

Chewydabacca

Mysidian Dollar
Hi! I'm Chewy and I'm completely new to web development. I've always wanted to create a adoptable site like flight rising, but never managed to learn how to. The template sounds amazing, but I simply cannot think of how to get started...

I've downloaded the Mysidia adoptables v1.3.6, and it's sitting in a folder, what do I do now? Is there a guide that can help?

Welcome to Mysidia Adoptables. You will need to upload the folder to your web server, I assume you have a webhost so you need to this with FTP. Then you run the installer script(since Mys v1.3.6, it will redirect you to installer if you go to index page). There are video tutorials on how to do this, you can check them out.

Hello, welcome! :giggle: As HOF said you ideally need a web host online to use the script, and if you don't already have one there are some free ones out there.

Mysidia also has one called MysidiaHost which is free, I think to get one of those you need to PM Hall of Famer and ask to have one set up for you.

To upload files to an online web host you need a program like FileZilla (the one I use) which allows you to access your online files from your computer and upload changes you make.

However, I recommend using a program like WAMP at the start, as that allows you to make your website locally (on your own PC) without it being online. This is good as it means you can edit files and see the changes and errors straight away, whereas if you need to upload them first it takes longer and is a bit frustrating lol. This also helps to prevent people finding your site before it's ready and also for the most part you can program offline!

Spoiler: WAMP instructions if you need them 

WAMP is here: Download

Click one of these:

2022-01-05 06_21_03-WampServer, la plate-forme de développement Web sous Windows - Apache, MyS...png